Tennessee Sports Hall Of Fame Announces All 2018 Honorees

Tuesday, April 24, 2018
The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday the remaining 2018 Honorees for its 52nd Annual Induction Banquet on Saturday, June 16, at the Omni Nashville. 

Honorees announced on Tuesday include the 2018 Professional Teams of the Year; the Pacific Coast League Champions Memphis Redbirds and the Southern League Co-Champion Chattanooga Lookouts.  The Amateur Teams of the Year are Rhodes College Women's Golf Team for claiming their third National Championship and Freed-Hardeman’s Women’s Basketball Team for claiming their first National Championship.
 Amateur Female Athlete of the Year is Hannah Segrave from Milligan College, a four-time NAIA National Track Champion. The Amateur Male Athletes of the Year are University of Tennessee’s Grant Williams, for being selected SEC Player of the Year and Middle Tennessee State University’s Nick King, for being selected as the Conference USA Player of the Year.  Previously announced Honorees are the Pat Summitt Lifetime Achievement Receipt, James A. Haslam II, Male Professional Athlete of the Year, Mike Fisher, and Tennessean of the Year, the Nashville Predators.

In conjunction with the Honoree Class, the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame will be inducting Joe Allison, University of Memphis Kicker and the winner of the inaugural Lou Groza Award in 1992; Blaine Bishop, former Tennessee Titan All-Pro Safety and current radio host on 104.5 the Zone; Allan Houston, University of Tennessee Basketball star and current General Manager for the Westchester Knicks; Johnnie H. Jones III, University of Tennessee Running Back; Chuck Kriese, winningest coach in ACC Tennis history and four time recipient of the National Coach of the Year Award; Tim Mack, 2004 Olympic Gold Medalist Pole Vaulter;  Raleigh McKenzie, University of Tennessee Center and current College Scout for the Oakland Raiders; Reginald McKenzie, University of Tennessee Linebacker and current General Manager of the Oakland Raiders; Jackie Pope, Middle Tennessee State University multi-sport athlete and All-American football player; George Quarles, registered over 200 victories at Maryville High School, and is currently the Associate Head Coach at Furman University. This class also includes the posthumous inductions of Tigerbelle Isabelle Daniels Holston, a member of Tennessee State University’s AAU champion relay team for five years and Olympic Bronze Medalist, and Glenn McCadams, who served as head football coach of Lipscomb Academy for 31 years, winning three state championships. 

The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, a 501c3 pays tribute to all those who have made an impact through sports in Tennessee. Officials said, "The Hall subscribes to the principle that sports serve society’s highest ideals by educating and shaping youth. It promotes the virtues of competition, fair play, friendship, solidarity, mutual understanding and respect for human dignity. The best way to honor our sports legends is to pass this legacy down to future generations."

MORE PHOTOS: Baylor Versus MUS DII-AA Baseball Championship

Lookouts Snap Losing Streak With (5-1) Win Over Biscuits Friday

The Chattanooga Lookouts put an end to a miserable five-game losing streak with great pitching and timely hitting to defeat the Montgomery Biscuits Friday night 5-1 in front of 3,407 fans. Right-hander Omar Bencomo pitched a gem for the Lookouts, only allowing one run in seven innings with seven strikeouts. This season Bencomo has not given up more than two runs in ... (click for more)

Jury Finds Donaldson Guilty Of Second-Degree Murder In Killing Of Son-In-Law

A Criminal Court jury late Friday afternoon returned a verdict of guilty of second-degree murder against Glen Donaldson in the killing of his son-in-law, Adam Levi. He is facing 15-60 years in state prison. Judge Don Poole will set the sentence at a sentencing hearing on July 12.  He has been free on bond, but was taken into custody after the verdict. The jury deliberated ... (click for more)

1st Vote On Controversial Signal Mountain Grocery Proposal Set June 13; Town To Choose Either Tennessee American Or Waldens Ridge For Water Service

The next steps in rezoning 617 Cauthen Way were discussed at the Signal Mountain work session Friday afternoon. Since the last council meeting, Town Manager Boyd Veal created a list of conditions to include in the zoning ordinance relating to the proposed commercial development designed to assure that there is no negative impact to the surrounding properties or to the interest of ... (click for more)

Speaking Of A Cove

Mr. Sole Commissioner Whitfield,   I live in  a cove in western most Chattanooga. My back yard is woods. My front yard is woodland too. My neighbors and I had chance to voice our disagreement in 1996 to the proposed sale of a portion of the farm that dominated this cove and we did. There weren’t very many of us. One member of the group that listened to ... (click for more)

Roy Exum: The Saturday Funnies

Today’s edition of The  Saturday  Funnies is the most technical savvy, advanced, software-enhanced, and modern-day genius that I have ever delivered. I can sum it up in just one sentence: I am using a new H-P Pavilion that is the newest seventh-generation Intel Core computer and, if you want to see “real funny,” go get a new computer and try switching over your tech ... (click for more)